Well got off to a rough start 30 miles into my trek to the race my engine blew on my tow truck. Got it borrowed a truck from my dad. Thanks Dad!!!!! Well got the sled teched and checked into my room off to the drivers meeting for course layout and instruction. Found out race will be delayed one hours do to -10 temps. Well started the sled for the transponder check lap and got code 42 and 84. Speed sensor was frozen blow torch freed that up and we are off!!! Course is fast and fun ditch for 70-80 MPH down the ditch. Onto the river fiver speeds are smooth and fully tapped out at 87 MPH on the speedo down to 75 MPH where there is more snow cover.  Then into some tight woods suspension is to stiff and bouncing me around no time to stop I will deal with it till repair session. Into the fuel stop first stop I took no fuel very risky but after some more tight woods and the nasty up and down road through washouts, rock, stumps and big drops. I made it back with little fuel to spare. Took on fuel fuel and I am off. Flat light combined with white snow means you can't see anything.  Well after trying to get by a slower rider didn't work and got stuck in the deep snow ditch got back behind them and was riding good due to snow and light conditions didn't see a snow drift off the sled i came. The sled bucked me off and my foot got caught do to the speed the sled dragged my for about 75 feet before stopping. I finally freed my ankle although a little sore. This caused me to back off the pass. The mental part of this race is getting to me and now I just want to finish. mad it to the finish line in 10th place 30 min behind the leader. I am only 5 min out of a top five place. Still alot of racing to go.   Now onto the repair session with freezing temps and hand tools only took on new hyfax and carbides and knocked off all the ice.  Ok well off to bed to rest up and ready for tomorrow.

This is the toughest race I have ever run both mentality and physically however the metal part is definably tougher than most.

Thanks Seth Thorson #177

Ike
1/16/2009 01:43:33 pm

Keep up the good work and stay on your sled.

Ike

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Minnesota,Cross Country,Racing,Yamaha,Seth Thorson,Snocross